TRUSTEES - The National Science-Technology Roadshow Trust


Richard Hartshorn (Chairman)

Associate Professor of Chemistry, University of Canterbury

Dr Richard Hartshorn is an Associate Professor of Chemistry at the University of Canterbury (UC). He has a track record of engagement with the school sector, notably through establishing the UC Science Outreach Programme and membership of Trust Boards of Science Alive!, Rutherford’s Den, and the National Science Technology Roadshow (The Roadshow).

Richard has been chair of the Roadshow Trust Board since 2011, and led the strategic review that resulted in establishment of the Sir Paul Callaghan Academy and a refocussing of Roadshow acitivities around integration of PLD for teachers with practical hands-on science for young people. Richard is highly active in the International Union for Pure and Applied Chemistry, including its Committee on Chemical Education, and is one of only seven holders of the UC Teaching Medal.

Anthony Briscoe

President and CEO at Southern Cross Cable Network

Anthony is an experienced international businessman and company Director with a passion for science education. He is currently CEO and President of Southern Cross Cable Networks based in Bermuda.

Prior to this he worked for 22 years at Telecom New Zealand, most latterly General Manager, International. Anthony has also worked as a professional director (Chairman of HortResearch and as a Director of Airways Corporation, Kordia Group and Wellington Cable Car Ltd).

Over his working life he has held a range of other positions including New Zealand Trade Commissioner in Singapore and Deputy Commissioner General for Expo 88 in Brisbane Australia.

Sue Leslie

Education Consultant; previous Assistant Principal, Diocesan School for Girls

Sue Leslie is a science graduate with a BSc Hons in Botany. She has been a secondary school science teacher for more than 25 years and during that time she has worked with science teachers in many schools, both primary and secondary, to help improve their science teaching.

She has written and presented papers on science teaching and was invited to speak at a science conference in Malaysia by the Malaysian Education, science and research division of the Ministry of Education. She has worked for Evaluation Associates (an independent education consultancy) and provided strategic advice, PLD and evaluation services to client schools.

Sue was previously the Assistant Principal at Diocesan School for Girls and is involved in supporting the Sir Paul Callaghan Academy, presenting on assessment and evaluation in science.

Chris LeCren

Managing Director, eTime Ltd

Chris Le Cren is the Managing Director of eTime, an education consultancy based in Christchurch since 2004. He oversees eTime’s work with schools in providing leadership development, innovative teaching/learning strategies using ICT, and an online learning programme for primary school students. Chris has extensive experience in school leadership and science education, having been a secondary school principal, a Head of Science, a secondary school science adviser, a chief examiner in Biology for the New Zealand Qualifications Authority, and a senior Biology curriculum writer for the Ministry of Education. Chris has been a member of the Roadshow Board since 1993.

Phil Butler

Professor of Physics, University of Canterbury

Philip is a founding Trustee of the National Science Technology Roadshow. Currently he is Professor of Physics and Astronomy at the University of Canterbury and both CEO and a Director of MARS Bioimaging Ltd. Previously Philip has held a number of significant leadership roles at the university including Pro-Vice Chancellor (Resources and Services) and Head of Department for Physics and Astronomy.

Philip has an equally long history in community governance roles and support for school based science education that have included being on the Science and Technology Advisory Group to NZQA and chairing a SciCon organizing committee.